I’m back! Someone pass me a pumpkin pie soda.

Summer’s never been an easy time for me. The heat makes me crazy and bitchy, the humidity makes me a sweaty, frizzy troll, and this summer, to add something new to the mix, my long-term relationship completely fell apart, the frequently aforementioned Flaneur moved permanently back to Italy, and for the first time in my entire life I found myself living alone. Throw in some skull-crushing hangovers, too many sad meals eaten in front of the TV, and a particularly unpleasant incident involving a locksmith and 325 of my hard earned dollars, and I’ve had one hell of a summer. (I know, what a whiner.)

But thankfully, summer, and the share of heartache that came with it this year, are on the way out.  Things are starting to look up, temperatures are starting to cool down, and I for one, am ready for fall.

I love lots of things about autumn: crisp weather, changing leaves, apple cider, my birthday (wait, no, scratch that last one), Halloween, Thanksgiving, lower electricity bills… I mean really, the list goes on and on. But perhaps my most favorite is the yearly pumpkin binge I go on where I eat everything and anything with pumpkin as an ingredient.

Pumpkin pie soda, a whole new take on my favorite fall treat

I thought I’d seen it all until earlier this week when I found myself at Whole Foods in Tribeca (i.e. my new happy place) where I saw…wait for it, wait for it… are you ready? Ok, here goes: Pumpkin freaking pie soda!! I know, MIND. BLOWN. Bam, in the basket it went.

Some of you are probably grossed out, and I get that, but trust me, you’re wrong. This Maine Root pumpkin pie soda is delicious, the perfect bubbly take on one of my favorite desserts. It’s sweet and smooth, with a very similar taste to cream soda (which I also looooove) but because it’s pumpkin pie based, it also has hints of cinnamon and nutmeg. Delicious, I tell you!

So yes, things have been rocky lately and especially here on the blogfront, there’s been a big fat nothing going on, but that’s all changing now. With a cold pumpkin pie soda in hand and fall officially just a week away, things are getting sweeter already.

Leave a comment